Welcome

More than 50 summers, hundreds of canoe trips, thousands of injections and controlled hypoglycaemic episodes as well as countless wonderful memories and laughs-and counting!

Accommodations and Facilities

Camp Carowanis Logo

Camp Carowanis is spread over more than 150 acres of forested land on the shores of Lake Didi in Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts, some 85 kilometres from Montreal.

The main onsite facilities comprise Ross Hall, a spacious dining hall with modern kitchen; the well-equipped Belmonte and Dr. Bob Infirmaries; the McGarry Chalet, for indoor activities; a waterfront recreational centre; as well as the Administration Building.  Campers sleep on cot-like beds in large tents mounted on platforms.

Medical Program

Infirmerie Belmonte

Staffed by doctors, nurses and medical residents, the Belmonte Infirmary provides campers with round-the-clock, specialized medical care. Campers test their blood-sugar levels at least four times a day under supervision and learn how to administer insulin injections on rotating sites. The onsite doctors and nurses also teach them how to recognize the symptoms of and treat hypoglycaemia, and how to adjust their insulin doses accordingly.

Working in league with doctors, a team of dieticians prepares individual diet plans as needed and teaches campers how to calculate the nutritional value of various foods in accordance with their diet.

Camp Programs (Age 8 to 15)

 

Camp Carowanis offers a full two-week program of leisure and sports activities. Camp-program activities are conducted under the supervision of a high ratio of counsellors to campers, as well as a team of age group leaders led by the Camp Chief.

Activities:

Activities at Camp Carowanis - Archery

  • Artisinat
  • Rowing, canoeing, kayaking
  • Archery
  • Volleyball, badminton, basketball
  • Cycling
  • Hiking, nature study
  • Tennis
  • Canoe/camping trips (1 to 3 days, depending on the age group)
  • Swimming program
  • Leader program for 16-year-olds
  • And so much more…

Family Weekend (for families with diabetic children under 8 years of age)

Canoe at Camp Carowanis

Available to diabetic children under 8 years of age and their entire families, with each family housed in a separate tent. This very special weekend, usually held in mid-August, offers parents advice and counselling from a team of multidisplinary health professionals through workshops and information sessions, while children enjoy camp activities under the supervision of experienced counsellors.

CONTACT PARENTS Get the latest delivered via email

Bienvenue

Plus de cinquante étés, des centaines d’excursions en canot, des milliers d’injections et d’hypoglycémies contrôlées et des tonnes de merveilleux souvenirs et de rires.

Camp Carowanis Logo

Le Camp Carowanis s’étend sur plus de 150 acres de terrain en plein cœur de la forêt qui borde le Lac Didi à Ste-Agathe-des-Monts, à environ 85 km de Montréal.

Plusieurs bâtiments y sont érigés: Le Pavillon Ross - une salle à manger spacieuse avec cuisine moderne, l’infirmerie Belmonte bien équipée, le chalet de récréation McGarry pour jeux intérieurs, le centre de récréation au bord de l’eau ainsi que le bâtiment de l’Administration en sont les principaux. Les campeurs dorment sur des lits à l’intérieur de grandes tentes montées sur plates-formes.

Programme médical

Infirmerie Belmonte

Grâce à la présence de médecins, infirmièr(e)s, et résident(e)s, l’‘Infirmerie Belmonte assure les soins médicaux propres à l’état diabétique de ses campeurs, jour et nuit. Les campeurs mesurent leurs glycémies (taux de sucre sanguin) au moins quatre fois par jour sous surveillance et apprennent comment s’injecter leur insuline selon un plan de rotation des sites d’injection. Les médecins et infirmières leur apprennent également à reconnaître et à traiter une hypoglycémie et comment ajuster leur dosage d’insuline au besoin.

De concert avec les médecins, l’équipe de diététistes ajuste les plans alimentaires de chacun, au besoin, et enseigne aux campeurs à évaluer les qualités nutritives des divers aliments selon leur diète.

Sessions du camp (8 à 16 ans)

Camp Carowanis offre un programme complet de loisirs et d’activités sportives, réparti sur deux semaines. Les activités du programme s’effectuent sous la surveillance attentive d’un important ratio moniteurs/campeurs et d’une équipe constituée de chefs pour chaque groupe d’âge, sous la responsabilité du Chef de Camp.

Activités:

Activities at Camp Carowanis - Archery

  • Artisinat
  • Chaloupe, canot, kayak
  • Tir à l’arc
  • Volley-ball, badminton, basket-ball
  • Cyclisme
  • Randonnées pédestres, étude de la nature
  • Tennis
  • Excursions en canot (2 ou 3 jours, selon le groupe d’âge)
  • Programme de natation
  • Programme des Leaders – 16 ans
  • Et beaucoup plus encore…

Fin de semaine familiale (familles avec enfants diabétiques de moins de 8 ans)

Canoe at Camp Carowanis

Destinée aux enfants diabétiques de moins de 8 ans et leur famille complète, chaque famille étant hébergée sous la tente, cette fin de semaine très spéciale se tient habituellement vers la mi-août et met à la disposition des parents une équipe multidisciplinaire de spécialistes de la santé leur offrant enseignement et conseils sous forme d’ateliers informels et de séances d’information.

Pendant ce temps, les enfants pourront bénéficier des installations et jouir du site magnifique du Camp Carowanis et ce, sous la supervision d’une équipe de moniteurs qualifiés.

CONTACT PARENTS obtenez les dernieres nounvelles par courriel